Wye Valley Councils

The Consortium of Wye Valley Councils was formed, on the initiative of Newland Parish Council, in September 2008. The initial motive for it's formation was to enable councils bordering the River Wye between Monmouth and Chepstow to speak with one voice and express concerns over the frequent closure of the A466 due to landslips and to form a closer relationship with the highway authorities in Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire.

There is now a communications system in place whereby both of these authorities will advise Newland Parish Council of any closure - planned or unplanned - who will then disseminate this information to member councils. Those councils can then advise their own communities.

Other matters which were discussed were:

River bridges
TV and digital radio reception

Encouragement of tourism
Access to and use of the river

Public transport
Telephone services

Cross border medical/dental services

Member Councils as of May 2015

Tintern Community Council
Trellech United Community Council
Newland Parish Council
St Briavels Parish Council
Hewelsfield & Brockweir Parish Council
Tidenham Parish Council

By agreement of member councils, the Consortium was placed 'in hibernation' in December 2015. It will be reconvened if issues arise which warrant that.